Happy New Year

Published December 31, 2013 by sophiachandler

the title of the post = I’m unimaginative currently, so please bear with it 🙂

All day long I have been spammed by social media notifications all related to the same thing: HAPPY NEW YEAR. After fifty messages I found it to be extremely annoying, and thus disabled all notifications.

And I know this will be another not-so-important Happy New Year post popping up on your newsfeed, but I’d like to write about my New Year Resolution. I think everyone’s got one. Some people want to go on a diet and experience the Land of Skinny – not fun. I should know. I have a black hole in my stomach that makes me as skinny as a stick. Some people want to study harder and achieve straight As. Some people, like me, want to change their habits.

These are my New Year’s resolutions:

1. Stop Procastinating
Subtitle says it all. I really. Need to. It’s kinda annoying when I’ve been at the computer all the time for the whole holiday, and then on December 31st I look up and go in surprise, “Where the heck did my six weeks go? How come I haven’t started organizing my underwear/sock/clothes drawer? How come I haven’t started putting away my stationery? What have I done at all?”

._. definitely something I have to change.

2. Swear Less
I’m getting influenced by all my male friends. I hear and see the f-word all the time in Skype calls and Facebook chats and tweets. And I’ve started to cuss too, but I WILL change it.

._. if I will be determined to change it, that is.

3. Be More Sociable
I’d like to talk more to members of the opposite (and same) gender, is what it is. I’d love to make myself feel comfortable around everyone, instead of harbouring the thoughts of “OGOD HE/SHE HATES MY GUTS AND WANTS TO WRENCH THEM OUT ONE BY ONE AND WATCH ME BLEED” no, can we not do that? Can we please think of puppies and rainbows and ponies and unicorns and fluffy cute stuff like girls and boys falling in love?

._. unicorns aren’t even real.

4. Love Myself
I’d like to think that I am not fugly everytime I look in the mirror.

In this one Skype call, we sang the One Direction song What Makes You Beautiful to Kia and made her blush like crazy too~ :3 that was fun! and cute. and sweet. But then I looked into the mirror and I went, “I wish I was actually not fugly.”

I read this one quote off the Internet, and it went a little like this:

“Sometimes people are beautiful.
Not in looks.
Not in what they say.
Just in what they are.”

Granted, you don’t exactly need to have a heart of gold to be considered beautiful. What makes you beautiful is you being you.

Okay that sounded corny… but I hoped it helped, for the demoralizing people like hypocritical me here who don’t think they’re beautiful. For a little lilypad out there: you ARE beautiful. He probably thinks you’re beautiful too. 🙂

And I’ve come to the end of my post…. If I dream of any more resolutions I’ll update this post 😀 Happy New Year and all the best for 2014!

~Sophia

Leave a Reply

