Merry Christmas

Published December 25, 2013 by sophiachandler

Image

Merry Christmas everyone!

Did any of you guys get what you wanted for Christmas? Any new packets of air-dry clay (oh CCJ!), balls of yarn (hehe Kia) or Minecraft-related stuff (a certain Richard I know!)? Or a new computer perhaps? That dress you’ve been eyeing recently? A Starbucks gift card from a loved one?

I’m so very pleased with the bountiful abundance of gifts I recieved! There were gifts like the new Skullcandy headphones from my parents (thank you so much I love you to the sky and back okay!), gifts like the small but sweet keychain with my name spelt on it in alphabet beads that my best friend Emma gifted me, gifts like the somewhat touching small note that made me smile placed among the small treasure trove of items Clarissa bestowed upon me at the party last Saturday.

As corny as it sounds, Christmas isn’t all about the gifts that you receive, it’s about giving them. A confession: this year was the first year that I was actually buying something using the money that I had painstakingly tried not to use for buying my weekly frappes at Starbucks. And I enjoyed it, because, well, there’s something inside you that makes you feel good about using your own money and effort to get a loved one something to warm their heart.

I can’t believe I just wrote something that corny!

Speaking of which, did you know that Christmas is not the day on which Jesus Christ was born?

I know, I know, shocking. I read The Da Vinci Code a year back and discovered this fact. Apparently it’s something about Roman propaganda. I can’t remember the details, but it has something to do with Constanistople, the then Roman emperor at that time, converting to Christianity and mixing some of the pagan religion into Christianity. December 25th is actually the Roman Saturnalia in which everyone eats, drinks and is merry. Also, did you know that the halos of the angels are actually supposed to be the Romans’ sun disks?

I’m going to end my post here, but I shall leave you with some lyrics from my all-time favorite Christmas carol:

“I don’t want a lot for Christmas
There is just one thing I need
I don’t care about the presents
Underneath the Christmas tree”

It’s from the Queen of Christmas – Mariah Carey!

Image

A very merry Christmas everyone! Here’s hoping all your wishes come true!

~Sophia

Leave a Reply

