The Joys of Christmas… Cards

Published November 16, 2013 by sophiachandler

I know Christmas won’t be coming until a month later, but a friend of mine got me an early Christmas present yesterday! After the ice skating event, we were waiting for my dad to come pick us up from the mall when she dragged me over to this store with iPhone case displays (there was this especially adorable giraffe on one of them) and Hello Kitty Polaroid cameras… and inside the store there was this display of miniature clay desserts like in the picture below:

Image

 

(image taken from carolyn tillie: silver and polymer clay desserts)

My friend got me some fruit tarts on a plate that looked so much like the real thing, except much smaller (and cuter!). As she paid at the counter, I couldn’t help but think of what I was going to give to my friends and family this year.

This year I think I’d like to do a card. I’m not an artsy kind of person who is good with his/her hands and scrapbooking and clay and stuff, but I was scrolling through ideas for a handmade Christmas card to make using scrapbook materials, and there are SO MANY simple yet pretty cards that you could make using a few sheets of paper, some circle punches, glue and a ribbon. Here’s one:

Image

 

(image taken from 36 Easy Handmade Christmas Card Ideas)

HOW CAN ANYONE RESIST THIS? Or even this:

Image

 

(image taken from Savvy Handmade Cards: Snowflake Merry Christmas Card)

I really want to do a few and just use them as decoration or something… they are TOO CUTE for words!

I admit maybe the second card might be a challenge, but I like the first card! It’s simple to make, but appealing… I think that will be a card that I’ll be making this Christmas.

On another note, I just discovered Pinterest…. now I feel like I’ve been living under a rock all those years. Why didn’t I discover it sooner?

~Sophia

 

Leave a Reply

